Book cover of Orrery by Donna Kane. It's a dark blue space motif with a grey satellite and a cluster of stars in the bottom third of the cover.

Orrery, by Donna Kane, finalist for the 2020 Governor General's Literary Award for Poetry

We're thrilled to share that Donna Kane's Orrery has been announced as a finalist for the 2020 Governor General's Literary Awards in the poetry category. 

Orrery is a collection of poems inspired by Pioneer 10, a space probe originally launched in 1972 to study the moons of Jupiter. The book has drawn the attention of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, Quirks and Quarks host Bob McDonald, National Space Institute member Charles Kux-Kardos and writer Dava Sobel.

Donna Kane, a recipient of the Aurora Award of Distinction: Arts and Culture and an honorary Associate of Arts degree from Northern Lights College, is the current executive director of the Peace Laird Regional Arts Council and co-founder of Writing on the Ridge (a non-profit society that has, for over twenty years, organized arts festivals, literary readings, artist retreats and writer-in-residence programs). Her work has appeared in journals and magazines across Canada. She is the author of two previous poetry titles, Somewhere, a Fire and Erratic (Hagios Press, 2004 and 2007), and the memoir Summer of the Horse (Harbour Publishing, 2018). She divides her time between Rolla, BC and Halifax, NS.

The Governor General's Literary Awards recognize Canada's best English and French books in seven categories: Fiction; Non-fiction; Poetry; Drama; Young People's Literature – Text; Young People's Literature – Illustrated Books; and Translation. The Canada Council for the Arts is responsible for administering and promoting the Governor General's Literary Awards (GGBooks). The awards promote Canadian literature and encourage Canadians to read. They provide finalists and winners with valuable recognition from peers and readers across the country.

Due to the pandemic the 2020 Governor General's Literary Awards finalists and winners will be celebrated in spring 2021, with the winners being announced on June 1, 2021. The Awards will then resume their normal schedule, with the 2021 finalists and winners to be revealed this fall.