Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Congratulations to Patrick Lane and Kayla Czaga

Posted: Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 5:22pm

Congratulations to Harbour author Patrick Lane and Nightwood Editions author Kayla Czaga who have just been announced winners of the League of Canadian Poets national poetry awards!

Patrick Lane won the Raymond Souster Award for Washita, his first collection of new work to be published in seven years. The Raymond Souster Award is given to a book of poetry by a League of Canadian Poets member published in the preceding year. The award honours the late Raymond Souster, an early founder of the LCP, and carries a $1,000 prize.

The judges (Micheline Maylor, Susan McMaster, and D.C. Reid) said that Lane’s Washita is “At times startling, at times soft with nostaligia, always attentive to language and image…. [it is] deeply moving and beautiful.”

Kayla Czaga's For Your Safety Please Hold On won the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award which is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who took a particular interest in the work of new writers. This award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceeding year and also has a $1,000 prize.

The judges (Sonja Greckol, Charles Mountford and David Seymor) commmented that "Czaga unfulrs experience, observation and development with complexity and more than a little humour suspending a reader between this page's moment of assurance and the next moment's unsettling observation."