Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Tim Bowling Garners Second Award Nomination

Posted: Monday, April 14, 2014 at 4:48pm

Nightwood’s Tim Bowling was recently in the news for his award nomination for the 2014 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize, an honour he has received eight times in the past fourteen years. The author now has a second reason to celebrate. On Friday, April 11, his landmark publication Selected Poems was also shortlisted for the 2014 Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry.

The Stephan G. Stephansson Award is one of nine Alberta Literary Awards, administered by the Writers Guild of Alberta, which recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors.

Bowling has been nominated for Alberta’s Literary Award for Poetry eight times as well, but in this case he has won the award three times, in 1998, 2007 and 2012. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, Bowling’s other awards include the Canadian Authors Association National Poetry Prize, the Petra Kenney International Poetry Prize, and the Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction. He has also been a finalist for two Governor General’s Literary Awards for Poetry and the Nereus Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize.

Other nominees for the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry are David Dowker and Christine Stewart for Virtualis: Topologies of the Unreal (BookThug) and Paul Zits for Massacre Street (University of Alberta Press). The winner of the $1,500 cash prize will be announced at the Alberta Book Awards Gala on Friday, June 6, 2014 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s (BPAA) Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Edmonton Public Library's 2014 Alberta Readers' Choice Award.