Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Congratulations to Tom Wayman and Chris Hutchinson

Posted: October 23, 2013

Congratulations to Harbour author Tom Wayman and Nightwood author Chris Hutchinson, who have been shortlisted for the 2013 Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry. Wayman’s eighteenth collection, Dirty Snow, unflinchingly considers the impact of the Afghan War: its absence and presence in Canadians’ everyday lives as citizens of a nation at war. Hutchinson’s A Brief History of the Short-Lived  brings the full force of the author’s linguistic dexterity to bear on the elusive subject of literature itself.

The Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry comes with a medallion and a $500 prize. It is awarded annually to a Canadian poet whose work is accessible to all people in its use of language and image and follows in the tradition of some of Canada’s major poets, such as Milton Acorn, Ted Plantos, Dorothy Livesay and Al Purdy. The winner will be announced in November.