Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Nightwood Poet Nominated for Alberta Literary Award

Posted: April 16, 2012

Renowned Nightwood Editions poet Tim Bowling has just been nominated for the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry for his tenth collection of poems, Tenderman.

The Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry is one of five Alberta Literary Awards, administered by the Writers Guild of Alberta, which recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors.

Bowling, who lives in Edmonton, has been nominated for the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry seven times, and has twice won the award, in 1998 and 2007. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, his other awards include the Canadian Authors Association National Poetry Prize, the Petra Kenney International Poetry Prize, the Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction and the Stephan G. Stephansson Alberta Book Award. He has also been a finalist for two Governor General’s Literary Awards for Poetry and the Nereus Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize.

In Tenderman, Bowling outlines the central tension that acts as a vital force in the collection--the dichotomy between the sensitive poetic observer and the tough working-class subject. The tenderman (the term for a crewman on a salmon packing boat), who represents an unromantic, fiercely independent everyman, acts as unintentional muse to the collection; its poems are often delivered through dialogues between poet and fisherman, reminiscences of their shared childhoods, or narratives delivered by the tenderman himself.

Other nominees for the poetry award are Rosemary Griebel of Calgary for Yes (Frontenac House) and Michael Penny, also from Edmonton, for Particles (McGill-Queens University Press). The Alberta Literary Awards come with a prize of $1500; the winners will be announced at the Alberta Book Awards Gala on June 9, 2012 in Calgary.