Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

David Zieroth's Poetry Collection Shortlisted for the Acorn-Plantos Award for People's Poetry


Posted: November 5, 2010

Congratulations to Harbour author and well-known Vancouver poet David Zieroth, for being shortlisted for the 2010 Acorn-Plantos Award for People's Poetry for his eighth collection, The Fly in Autumn!

The Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry is presented annually to a Canadian poet who published a book in the previous year that has followed in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos, and others by being accessible to all people in its use of language and image. The award consists of $500 (CAD) and a medallion.

The winners of the Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry will be announced on November 15, 2010.

The Fly in Autumn is a nuanced work with an absurdist twist in which recognizable landscapes--of North Vancouver quays and piers and harbour fog--are sometimes irrevocably altered by "water-light" into places of the mind alive with "the hundred thousand thoughts everyone collects in a day." It has already been awarded the Governor General's Literary Award for Poetry in November 2009, and was shortlisted for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize in Spring 2010.

David Zieroth's poetry has appeared in dozens of anthologies and he has written eight other books, among them The Village of Sliding Time, Crows Do Not Have Retirement and his memoir, The Education of Mr. Whippoorwill: A Country Boyhood. Zieroth won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize in 1999 for his collection How I Joined Humanity at Last and he also released a chapbook, Berlin Album, earlier this year. He taught at Douglas College in New Westminster, BC, for twenty-five years before retiring and founding the Alfred Gustav Press. Born in Neepawa, Manitoba, he currently lives in North Vancouver, BC.

The other authors shortlisted for the 2010 Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry are George Elliot Clarke for I&I (Goose Lane Editions), Andreas Gripp for Anathema: Poems Selected & New (Harmonia Press), Susan McMaster for Crossing Arcs: Alzheimers, My Mother, and Me (Black Moss Press), Chris Pannell for Drive (Wolsak and Wynn), and Linda Rogers for Muscle Memory (Ekstasis Editions).