Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Nightwood Author Awarded Prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship

Posted: April 9, 2008

2008 has been a noteworthy year for author Tim Bowling. His first book of non-fiction, The Lost Coast: Salmon, Memory and the Death of Wild Culture (Nightwood Editions), was recently shortlisted for three literary awards: The Writers’ Trust Nereus Non-Fiction Award, the BC Book Prizes’ Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize and the Alberta Literary Awards’ Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction. It was also chosen as a  2008 Kiriyama Prize "Notable Book."  Bowling's 2007 novel, The Bone Sharps (Gaspereau Press), was also one of three nominated titles for the 2008 City of Edmonton Book Prize.

Now Bowling has received news that he is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, one of North America’s most prestigious awards. Guggenheim Fellows are appointed on the basis of stellar achievement and exceptional promise for continued accomplishment in their field. This year, the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation awarded 190 Fellowships to artists, scientists and scholars in over seventy-five disciplines, with awards totaling $8,200,000. There were over 2,600 applicants. Bowling is one of only three Canadians to receive the Fellowship, and the only Canadian writer.

In addition to his highly acclaimed memoir The Lost Coast, Tim Bowling has published three novels and seven poetry collections, including The Witness Ghost and The Memory Orchard—both nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Poetry. Bowling is the recipient of the Petra Kenney International Poetry Prize, the Jack Chalmers Award, the National Poetry Award, the Stephan G. Stephansson Award and the Orillia International Poetry Prize.